Survivor Stories

 

CancerLink changed things for me: Raymond Ho

"It was a shock when I was told I had prostate cancer at the age of 52. Both my parents and two elder brothers passed away from cancer, so I knew I was more at risk, but the result still came as a massive blow.

I was fearful and felt helpless. I couldn’t stop thinking negatively.

CancerLink changed things for me. They were a real support and comfort. There, I was able to find out all I needed to know about my treatment and side effects. I spoke to a peer ambassador who told me what to expect after my surgery.

Like many men, I was reluctant to talk about health issues and avoided the doctor. I just focused on my work and providing for my family. I now know that you can only really do this if you have your health. It’s so important to speak to a doctor if you have any symptoms or prostate concerns.

Since my recovery, I have been volunteering at CancerLink to help others learn from my experience. Talking to someone who had gone through a similar journey was so important for me. They helped me realise there’s no point wasting life by being worried all the time. There is life after prostate cancer and it’s important to get on and enjoy it.”

Like many diagnosed with cancer, Mike was initially stunned: Michael John Kennedy

Michael John Kennedy started having regular blood tests five years ago to check for prostate cancer – ?knowing full well that early detection can make all the difference in overcoming the disease. When his PSA levels started to rise, the 69-year-old semi-retired engineer underwent a biopsy last June, and discovered a malignancy in his prostate.

Like many diagnosed with cancer, Mike was initially stunned.

“I sort of fell off my chair. It was out of the blue,” said Mike, who has lived in Hong Kong for nearly 35 years since moving from London. “It all happened very quickly. This diagnosis and options for treatment were relayed to me in about 15 minutes in a consultation and I was completely taken aback, actually devastated, by it all.”

But as the initial shock faded, Mike and his wife resolved to stay positive and explore their options. His choices were two-fold: receive radiation treatment for six weeks, or undergo surgery to remove his prostate.

 

“I was not too keen on radiation treatment and I decided that if I was to have surgery then I should have it as soon as possible. I discussed all of this with my wife and she agreed. Both she and my grown up children were upset by the news,” he said.

He met with a second physician who detailed the benefits and drawbacks of each option. When the doctor said he could perform the surgery in almost a week, Mike decided to have his prostate removed. Because he lacked medical insurance, he used savings to help pay for the surgery. He underwent the procedure in August of last year.

However, Mike faced even more challenges ahead. “If anything, the operation was the easy part,” he said.

For the next two and a half months, Mike struggled with an inability to urinate, returning to the hospital four times for catheter insertions and laser treatment. Finally, after a number of minor operations and catheter treatments, this problem was resolved.

Perhaps even more difficult, he said, was the uncertainty he faced after the procedure. Mike had gone into the operation assuming he would likely be cancer-free once the prostate was removed. So, he was distressed to learn afterwards that, because the malignant cells had overtaken 10 percent of the prostate, there was a chance the cancer had spread to nearby parts of his body.

“They told me that the cancer may not be confined to the prostate. This was probably the most devastating thing for me to hear, and I was extremely upset,” he said. “They said we've done this procedure, but it may not have worked. So, I'd gone through all this, and it was like somebody had cut my leg off. I’d expected everything to be over, but it wasn't.”

To determine whether or not the surgery had eradicated the cancer, Mike would need to take blood tests one month, three months and six months after the procedure to gauge his PSA levels. The eternal optimist, Mike decided to remain upbeat and envisioned each of three tests coming back with a reading of 0.1ng/ml — a sign that would indicate the cancer was no longer in his body.

“I told all my friends and my family about the situation,” he said. “I decided it was going to be less than 0.1 and told them, ‘I want you to believe that,’ and they all came back to me saying, ‘Yes, you’re going to do it!”.

To further buoy his spirits, Mike wrote on a piece of paper “This cancer no longer exists.” He carried this note wherever he went, glancing at it whenever he thought about the situation.

“You have to dispel all negative thoughts. You have to believe that everything is going to be alright,” he said.

Each of the three tests came back negative. More than six months after his operation, Michael is now cancer free.

“It’s difficult when you're sick. You've got to have help from other people,” he said. “I had the help from family and friends backing me up. And I'm sure that did the trick. I just believe if you can remain positive, there's this external energy that can help.”

After making a recovery, Mike took part in Cancer Fund's fundraising walkathon ‘Stride for a Cure’ last November, carrying out the hike blindfolded and guided by friends. In raising money for cancer research, he wanted to draw attention to the importance of cancer awareness.

“Since recovering I don’t think about cancer that often, certainly I believe the prostate cancer has gone, but I’m more careful about my living, eating and drinking habits to try to prevent other forms of the disease attacking me,” he said.

“My suggestions and advice for others is that most forms of cancer can be treated, certainly if caught early enough. So, medical checks and tests are essential on a regular basis, as one gets older,” he added. “Also try to remain positive. It’s difficult when you’re sick or ill, but I am sure that ‘mind over matter’ really helps to improve your quality of life and how you approach your illness; think positively and remain grateful.”

view full story
lau_img

Facing cancer head-on: Lau Lap-Keung

 

“Most men I know approaching the latter part of middle age will encounter some urinary problems, I just never knew it could be an indicator of serious prostate problems.”

Lau Lap-Keung was diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2006, at the age of 64. He had a history of benign prostate enlargement and had experienced urination problems for some time. That’s why he never took much notice when his condition became more acute.

“I thought my symptoms were just part and parcel of getting older, or that my prostate enlargement problem was getting worse. I never thought about checking up with the doctor,” said Lau.

By coincidence, Lau registered for a study undertaken by the Chinese University on the effects of isoflavone on the prostate gland, which subsequently revealed that his PSA level was abnormally high. He was then referred to North District Hospital’s Urology Department for a biopsy, that confirmed he had stage 4 prostate cancer.

The news that he had stage 4 prostate cancer did not overwhelm him, but instead he kept asking himself why he didn’t notice anything of significance until such a late stage.

“I undergo health checks every year, but they just cover the usual tests like blood pressure, cholesterol and blood sugar levels. I was under the assumption that men my age are mainly concerned with heart disease. Little did I know that prostate cancer could pose such a threat.”

Lau’s cancer had metastasized to his bones, and the doctor believed that he had only two more years to live. But, given that prostate cancer grows relatively slowly, the doctor told him there was no urgency for treatment and suggested that he wait.

In seeking a second opinion, Lau went to a hospital in Zhongshan University in China for another check-up, where he began hormonal treatment to lower his testosterone level, which can help to slow the growth of prostate tumours.

“Cancer doesn’t hurt, but my wallet does,” he laughed. “Those hormone tablets cost $15 each, amounting to over $1,000 a month,” said Lau, who was placed under additional financial strain since quitting his job following diagnosis.

At his own will, Lau also started using traditional Chinese medicine to strengthen his immunity to cope with the side-effects of hormonal therapies. “Whilst I underwent modern treatment, I believe in combining western and Chinese medicine, because I think it works well for me.”

As a result of hormone treatment and better attention to his diet, Lau’s PSA levels lowered, helping to stabilize his condition.

Lau admitted that he didn’t know much about the symptoms and prevention of prostate cancer, and despite having persistent symptoms for several years, he never took the time to discuss it with his doctor.

“I regret that I chose to ‘self-diagnose’ my condition and overlook important prostate screenings. If I hadn’t enrolled in that study, who knows what might have happened? I might have died from ignorance!”

Whilst there’s no formal/scientific reason as to what causes prostate cancer, it’s thought that a poor diet is a contributing factor. Lau is one such person who believes diet may have been a catalyst for his illness. “I used to work as a chef, and rarely did I eat healthily or take care of my body.”

But now Lau has completely transformed his diet and lifestyle. “I definitely eat a lot more vegetables and very little meat now. Less fat, better health!” He also joins diet workshops every now and then to share healthy recipes with fellow cancer patients.

These fellow patients are people he met at CancerLink. “When I went for appointments at the hospital, I dropped by the Cancer Patients Resource Centre, to gather information about prostate cancer and tips on how to cope with treatment. Later, I also joined one of the support groups and met people who were going through a similar ordeal to me. We shared a lot.”

At present, Lau serves as an ambassador for one of the self-help groups, HKPMSA, and regularly visits new patients to share his experience and offer encouragement. “Prostate cancer is perhaps not as common as lung or colorectal cancer, which is why I think it’s important for new patients to have access to peer support and meet others who have been through the prostate cancer journey. Everybody’s experience is different, but I hope I can offer hope and confidence, to help alleviate their fears....”

So what kind of advice does Lau have for other men in his age group? “I know a lot of men are afraid of losing their sexual ability, and they feel reluctant to admit or face problems if they arise, especially when it concerns their ‘manhood’. But I believe more men need to be encouraged to take action early and be aware of the implications if they choose to ignore unusual symptoms. Men also need to know that prostate cancer develops slowly over time, and if diagnosed early, the chances of a successful recovery are high. So, any man over 50 should talk to their doctor whenever anything unusual comes up, and be aware of the benefits of prostate screening. Early detection really is the key to saving lives.”

 

view full story

contact us

  • Address:2501 Kinwick Centre,32 Hollywood Road,Central,Hong Kong
  • Tel:(852) 3667 6300
  • Fax:(852) 3667 2100
  • public@hkfc.org
  • Address:2501 Kinwick Centre,32 Hollywood Road,Central,Hong Kong
  • Tel:(852) 3667 6300
  • Fax:(852) 3667 2100
  • public@hkfc.org

康復者故事

"香港癌症基金會屬下的免費服務,中心的社工及醫護人員給予我實用的資訊"

何先生
「雖然父母及兩位兄長均因癌症去世,我已有心理準備患癌的機會較其他人高,但我確診前列腺癌時只有52歲,我仍然感到很震驚、憂慮及害怕死亡。 由於手術後有機會導致失禁,我感到非常憂慮。幸而經網上搜尋後得悉香港癌症基金會屬下的免費服務,中心的社工及醫護人員給予我實用的資訊,讓我更了解甚麼是前列腺癌及治療後的副作用,我獲得了支持及感到安慰。在癌症基金會協助及家人的支持下,我逐漸接受現實,積極治療癌症。此外,與同路人的傾談及分享,大大減低手術後遺症的困擾。同時我亦參與了中心的工作坊,調節心理及情緒的需要。
我相信很多男性與我一樣不願意討論健康問題,只專注工作並以家庭為先,現時我知道健康是非常重要。我呼籲所有男士,若身體有任何異樣或對前列腺有任何疑問,應立即諮詢醫生的意見。 現時我為免費癌協服務中心擔任義工,以自身抗癌經歷為其他前列腺癌病友提供電話輔導服務。我學懂享受生命、珍惜所有,不再浪費時間及生命。」

"就像其他很多剛確診癌症的患者一樣,Michael覺得很驚訝。"

Michael John Kennedy

六年前開始,Michael John Kennedy先生便定期進行血液檢查,作為前列腺癌篩檢--因為他知道及早發現,將有助治愈這病症。在發現自己的前列腺抗原指數(PSA值)開始上升後,這位69歲、處於半退休狀態的工程師,便於前年七月接受活組織切片測試(biopsy),其後證實他患上前列腺癌。

就像其他很多剛確診癌症的患者一樣,Michael覺得很驚訝。

「我差點嚇得從椅子跌倒地上,一切都來得很突然。」來自倫敦居港接近35年的Michael說:「這件事來得太快了。診斷和治療方案就在看醫生的短短15分鐘之內發生,我立時不知所措,完全被這個消息所嚇倒。」
但Michael的驚惶,很快就被妻子的正面態度所取代。他的妻子著他保持樂觀,並積極搜尋其他治療方案。他有兩個選擇:一是接受為期六星期的放射治療,或是進行前列腺切除手術。

他說:「我不是太想接受電療。而且我想,若我真的要切除前列腺,就越快進行越好。與妻子商量之後,她也同意我的看法。但當然,她和兒女們都因這個患癌消息而傷心。」

他隨即詢問第二位醫生的意見,探討兩個不同治療方案的優劣。當醫生告訴Michael,他可於一個星期之內就進行手術,Michael馬上決定接受前列腺切除手術。由於他並沒有購買醫療保險,他動用積蓄去支付醫療費用。去年八月,他接受了前列腺切除手術。

可是,Michael還須接受很多挑戰。「手術原來是最舒服簡單的部分。」

接著的兩個半月,Michael被排尿困難所折騰,而需要每星期回醫院四次接受導尿管及雷射治療。他陸續進行了幾個小型手術和導尿管治療,問題才得以解決。

患癌最辛苦的事情,可能是他在手術後所面對的不確定。Michael以為切除了前列腺後,癌症便會痊愈。故此,當他知道腫瘤已侵襲自己一成的前列腺,而且漸趨邊緣位置,有機會擴散到身體其他部位時,他的情緒很低落。

「他們說我的癌症可能不只局限在前列腺上。這是令我最感驚恐的事情,著實令我覺得很沮喪。」Michael說:「他們說縱使已做了手術,可能都沒有幫助。故此,我還需要接受很多療程,這好像有人突然把你的腳割下來一樣!我以為所有事都會完結,原來不是。」

為了確定手術是否已根治他的癌症,Michael需要在手術後第一、第三和第六個月接受血液測試,檢查他的前列腺抗原指數。幸好,Michael到底是個樂觀派,他決定保持心境開朗和心存盼望,幻想這三次血液測試的數值都是0.1ng/ml,而腫瘤已在自己身上消失!

「我將這個設想告訴家人和朋友。」他說:「我已自己決定檢查的指數是少過0.1,我並跟他們說:『你們要相信這個事實。』而他們的反應都是:『對呀!你一定可以做到的!』」

為了進一步延續這個構想,他寫了一張「癌症已不復存在!」的字條,天天攜帶在身,一有時間就拿出來看看。

他說:「你需要把所有負面想法通通趕走。你需要相信,一切將會很美好。」

結果是,三次測試結果都屬陰性--證明手術後六個月的Michael,身上已經再沒有癌症了。

「生病的時候是很難過的,你需要接受別人的幫助。」他說:「我有家人和朋友在背後支持,我相信這就是箇中力量。我只相信,如果你保持正面,就能導引外間的正能量去幫助自己。」

康復後的Michael,更於2008年開始,每年均參與香港癌症基金會的「抗癌大步走」步行籌款活動。

他說:「康復之後,我很少想到『癌症』這兩個字。我深信自己的前列腺癌已經痊愈,但我仍然會小心自己的生活和飲食習慣,儘量避免受到任何病症所侵襲。」

「我的建議和忠告是,很多癌症若能及早發現就能治愈。故此,定期進行身體檢查是很重要的,尤其是我們年紀越來越大。」他續說:「當然,還要保持開朗和正面的態度。我知道,生病的時候是特別難做到的,但我深信『意志戰勝一切』,而且樂觀思想能改善生活質素,以及對付病症的方法。儘量令自己心存正面和感恩,這是很重要的。」

查看全部故事
lau_img

與其懼怕癌症 不如積極對抗

劉立強

「幾乎所有男人踏入中年以後,都會有排尿問題,我怎知會與前列腺癌有關呢?」可能因為疏忽,或是忽略相關症狀,令劉立強患上前列腺癌第四期而不自知。

劉立強,64歲,於2006年診斷出前列腺癌。曾有前列腺肥大的他,一直都有排尿問題,例如夜尿、排尿不暢順、尿流開叉等。故當這些狀況持續發生並且越來越差時,他也沒有特別理會。

「我以為純粹因為年紀越來越大,或與前列腺肥大漸趨嚴重有關,故此沒有想過去看醫生。」偶然之下,他因為報名參加中文大學醫學院關於異黃酮對前列腺影響的計劃,才由驗血測試發現自己的PSA值(前列腺特殊抗原)奇高。最後由中大寫信轉介至北區醫院泌尿科跟進,接受活細胞組織檢查後證實,劉先生患了第四期前列腺癌。

得知患癌和命不久矣,他並沒有特別激動,只是不明白為何癌症已屆第四期仍不自知:「自己每年都有做身體檢查,但都是普通的驗驗血壓、血糖和膽固醇。我以為年紀大的男士,應該擔心患上心臟病,怎會想起要關注前列腺癌呢?」

劉先生的癌細胞已轉移至附近骨骼,醫生更坦言他只剩餘兩年命,但由於前列腺癌生長得比較慢,醫生認為他沒有治療的迫切性,故著他排期等待。無計可施之下,劉先生遂往中山大學附屬第五醫院作全身檢查,期後開始接受激素治療,藉此降低睪酮的份量以減緩腫瘤的生長。他笑言:「我常常說患癌不痛,荷包痛呀!那些荷爾蒙藥丸不在政府藥物名冊內,要$15一粒,每天吃三粒,一個月下來的藥費都千多元了!」對於患病後已再無工作的他,實在是個負擔。

經兄弟介紹下,劉先生到廣州市的廣東省中醫院腫瘤科接受中醫治療。(現時病人可到下葵涌分科診所隔鄰,仁濟醫院中醫診所找到省中醫院腫瘤科的醫生。)由於癌細胞已開始侵襲骨骼,故此中醫以傳統方法為他補骨、強肝腎(中醫認為腎主骨),以及紓緩激素治療的副作用等。「我個人認為中西結合治療能相輔相成,治癌效果會更好。」現時,劉先生定期會到威爾斯親王醫院覆診。他的PSA值亦保持極低水平,表示病情已然穩定。

劉先生坦言,自己對前列腺癌的病症和預防方法所知不多,故此就算症狀困擾多年,但仍然沒有諮詢醫生,或接受一些跟進檢查。「我的身體出現異常狀況,只自行斷症了事,而沒有找醫生跟進及安排一些適合的跟進檢查,間接令病情更惡化。如果不是誤打誤撞發現出癌症,可能死了還不知為甚麼!」

除了忽略異常情況外,劉先生覺得飲食可能亦是元兇之一:「因為以前我是當廚師的,根本不能遵守『三低一高』。」現在的他,飲食習慣已經一百八十度轉變:「我謹記每天二加三的飲食習慣,每天至少吃兩份蔬菜和三份水果,多菜少肉,少煎炸少油膩,健康得很呢!」閒時他會參加營養工作坊,更會與其他病友研究健康飲食的菜單,互相交流。

這班病友,就是劉先生在香港癌症基金會屬下癌協的服務中心裡認識的。「覆診時候,我到醫院內的癌症病人資源中心閒逛,在那裡拿到很多免費資訊,認識如何面對癌症和相關副作用。癌症基金會癌協服務中心提供機會,讓我積極參與學習復康的知識,其後我更加入病人自助組織創域會,得到很多同路人樂意跟我分享感受。」現在,劉先生是創域會的關懷大使,經常慰問和探訪新症病人。「前列腺癌的病友比較少,故此我更加樂意關懷同路人,儘能力將自己所知的資訊與他們分享,令他們少點徬徨、多些希望。」

作為前列腺癌患者的劉先生,對其他男士有甚麼忠告呢?「我知道很多男士擔心性功能受到影響,故明知出現前列腺癌症狀也都諱疾忌醫。其實他們應該明白,前列腺癌是發展得頗慢的病症,只要及早求診,痊愈的機會是很大的!所以,年過50的男士,應關注自己的前列腺健康,不要抱著僥倖心態,稍有異常情況就要去諮詢醫生意見!」

查看全部故事

contact us

  • Address:2501 Kinwick Centre,32 Hollywood Road,Central,Hong Kong
  • Tel:(852) 3667 6300
  • Fax:(852) 3667 2100
  • public@hkfc.org
  • Address:2501 Kinwick Centre,32 Hollywood Road,Central,Hong Kong
  • Tel:(852) 3667 6300
  • Fax:(852) 3667 2100
  • public@hkfc.org